Being a “remotee” in Red Hat … one year later

When I started to work at Red Hat last year (on March 1st), all my friends and relatives asked me a lot of questions about my new job … from home !

“What are your working hours ?”, “How does you manager verify that you are working ?”, “How do you share artifacts with your colleagues ?”, “What’s your daily life without getting in touch with your colleagues ?” …

I understand that for people, who don’t know what being a “remotee” means, it’s quite difficult to understand this way to spend the time at home but … working.

Other people just for kidding say “You are at home, you can do whatever you want” … but it’s not absolutely true ! It’s exactly the opposite !

I can say that every day I chat with my colleagues, writing or speaking it depends on the stuff we have to discuss. Once a week I have a video call for syncing about the work each team member has done during the last week. Sometimes, we have the chance to meet in person for conferences or business travels (it was great for me being in Boston in January for the F2F meeting of the whole “messaging” team).

Even if I don’t meet in person my colleagues every day, I have started to have friendship feelings with them. I think that if we lived in the same place, I could have a lot activities with them outside of the office. Of course, it’s a matter of how people are … and I was very lucky with my colleagues. By the way, having such a feeling means that you are comfortable in the team and with your “remote” colleagues.

We are an open source company, so all my artifacts are available online (on GitHub) but in any case we also share documents regarding stuff we are developing in order to have a place for getting feedback and comments.

After one year, I have these main points to share with you :

  • You have to be the manager of yourself and it’s not always simple.
  • You need a separation between being at “home” and being at the “home office”.
  • You have flexibility on the working hours but my preference is to have a full day work as I was in a “real” office.
  • You have your manager who trusts in you … for having a dispersed team, the trust is one of the main aspects.
  • You need to be a passionate employee about your job … you have to love it … and I’m lucky on that ! 🙂

Quite often, working from home means working more and it’s exactly the opposite of what a lot of people think. You are right there at the “office” (just few seconds from the bed), you are right there at “home” (just few steps from your desk) … but if you are passionate about what you do … it’s not a problem … at least for me 🙂

Of course, there are some perks about being a “remotee” :

  • I have more free time in the early morning and late afternoon because I can avoid to waste my time in a traffic jam ! Now I’m a runner who starts his day at 6:00 AM for having a workout and even a father that can play with his children just “one minute” after ending the work.
  • I have time for taking and picking up my son to the school.
  • Last year I had a daughter and since July I have been seeing her every hour during each day and how she is growing.
  • When I have a break during the day I can speak with my wife or play a little bit with my children.
  • There are few distractions because when you are at your desk … you are alone 🙂 You can be more concentrate on the problem you are trying to solve.
  • Two additional perks are … having a good Napolitan coffee at lunch and watching a “The Big Bang Theory” episode after lunch 🙂

I think that in a such working environment you need two main things : being passionate and being professional.

This short post came to my mind after reading a blog post series written by a Red Hatter during the last days explaining how it’s possible to work in a “dispersed” team and I think that you can read it to understand better how “dispersed” teams work great here in Red Hat.

So with this … I hope I have answered to all the people with their questions ! 🙂

And now … now I’m ready … ready for the Red Hat Summit where I’ll meet in person some of my colleagues and other Red Hatters from all around the world !

Leave a Reply

