GnatMQ : a more community driven future !

When I developed the M2Mqtt library, a lot of people asked me to develop a .Net based MQTT broker as well. It wasn’t my initial intention but at same time I thought that it could be a good idea trying to reuse part of the M2Mqtt client in order to do that : this is the way how GnatMQ was born.

From the beginning I said that it wasn’t a production ready MQTT broker with decent performance for its job but in the last years it turned out that a lot of developers started to use it for their IoT solutions.

Due to my last really busy year and pushed by this issue opened in the GnatMQ repo, this week I decided to create a GnatMQ organization and making this broker more open source then before. I added some developers who asked me to be member of such organization so that they can drive the GnatMQ future better than me : this members proved to contribute to the project in the past pushing PRs on it. Of course, I won’t give up on that, I will always feel like the project’s father and I’ll coordinate such community.

So … it means that GnatMQ isn’t dead … the community and the power of collaboration will move it to the next level, maybe having a really good fully .Net based MQTT broker !

 

Leave a comment